General Info The Government Official Symbols


Angola is located in the western coast of southern Africa, and was a Portuguese colony till 11 November 1975, when it won its independence.

Angola has an area of 1.246.700 squared kilometers.

The country is divided in 18 provinces, and its capital city is Luanda (about 5 million inhabitants).

Other important cities are namely, Huambo, Benguela, Lobito, Lubango, Malange, Namibe and Cabinda. Its periphery comprises 4.837 Km, bordering on Congo Brazzavile, Democratic Republic of Congo and Zambia and Namibia. Angola has a coast of 1.650 kilometers, washed by Atlantic ocean.


Their main ports are: Luanda, Lobito and Namibe. The highest point of the Country is Monte Moco, with 2.620 meters, located in the Province of Huambo. Its main rivers are Kwanza, Congo, Cunene and Cubango.

Capital ciity: Luanda

Languages: Portuguese (official) and several national languages such as Umbundu, Kimbundu, Kikongo, Fiote, etc..

Religion: 94.1% Christians (majority Catholics and Protestants) and 5% local religions.

Population: 24.383.301(2014)

Currency: Kwanza (kz) $1 = 100 Kz

Inflation: 9%

HIV SIDA : 5.7% of the population (one of the lowest in Africa)

GNP per capita: $ 6.500

Total external debt: $8.8 billion 

Export products: Oil, diamonds, coffee, various minerals, etc.

Import products: Machinery, food, medicines, chemical products, etc.

Government: Semi-Presidential Republic

Official designation: Republic of Angola

Administrative Divisions: 18 provinces

President: José Eduardo dos Santos

Vice-Presidente:  Manuel Vicente


Constitutional law: 05.02.2010 – Click to read

Ethnic groups

There are many ethnic groups in Angola such as: the Ovimbundu (Center), the Mbundu (north west), the Bakongo (north), the Lunda-Chokwe (east and south west), the Nganguela, the Cuanhama, the Nyaneca and the Nkhumbi (south).